Lisa Hofmann

fantasy author

my books


novels and short fiction by Lisa Hofmann

Fantasy Novels 


Trading Darkness

An ancient curse. A stolen child. A deal with the devil.

Sacrificed to the Century Demon as a part of a bargain to save her father’s people, Louisa of Blackvale has survived half a lifetime of darkness in the netherworld. Without the malevolent creature’s knowledge, she learns to utilize her prison’s ancient magic and make it her own.


When the demon sets a well-laid plan into motion and plunges Blackvale into war, Louisa knows it’s time to fight and take back her life. It’s time to strike a bargain of her own, even if it costs her soul.


But would she also trade in the life of the man she loves to win this battle?


If you enjoy fantasy with a bitter-sweet taste of darkness and a touch of fairytale magic, you’ll love Trading Darkness. 

Click to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited.
Also available in paperback.

Click on the image to watch the booktrailer for Trading Darkness

Amberflame - A Short Story 

Willa loves Aberlin, and Aberlin loves Willa, but they can’t be together. 

Willa has a secret. She is afraid of monsters. She is not afraid to face them, to stand up and fight – but what if she can't win? Where would that leave the people she cares about? 
Enjoy this magical new tale about dark secrets and the power of love.

Click here to buy the e-bookor read it free on Kindle Unlimited. 

Also available in paperback.


You can listen to a free complete audiobook version of Amerflame here:



Amélie - A Novelette

The Thirty-Years-War is ravaging Alsace, and Thiersburg Castle is under siege. Amélie and her brother must flee to save themselves from  the carnage.

Before they go, they both receive a very special parting gift from their mother – but does the old druid magic it contains have a place in the new era that’s dawning?

And how can Amélie live with the decisions she’s forced to make when she meets the handsome Saxon mercenary, Jaspin? 

Click here to buy the e-book read it free on Kindle Unlimited.

Also available in paperback.


Aura - A Novella

Strange things happen in Breitenau whenever tinkers come to the area. The locals are suspicious of the travelers who make halt near the Bavarian village to peddle their wares, repair pots and pans, and sell magic to those who think they are in need of it. 

But magic always comes with a price, and a price not paid is a debt that will come back to the people you love.

When the Reindl family’s barn is raided and houses start burning, the villagers blame the gypsies, but Marielle isn’t convinced, and an explosive chain of events is set in motion…

Enjoy this new suspenseful shapeshifter mystery set in southern Bavaria during the time leading up to the Thirty-Years-War.

Click here to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited. Also available in paperback. 


Artemis' Wings

There is a girl in the tower on that island. She watches the stars from her window – and the dark waters of the lake below. 

Monsters thrive between the rocks and the fouling weeds, guarding the cursed shore. The world seems to have forgotten her. 

It’s easier to forget than to fight. Only Elnathan still knows she’s there. He sees her wishing on every falling star the night will surrender. He would fly on borrowed wings to the ends of the earth just to be near her.

Enjoy this new magical, thrilling shapeshifter love story by Lisa Hofmann - click here to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited. Also available in paperback.

Stealing the Light - Dies Irae Book 1 

The gravedigger’s daughter has high ambitions. She also has a secret, no control over her magic, and she is about to make a fatal mistake.

Catherine lives in a world where sorcery is forbidden under penalty of death. After years of misery under her father’s roof, she is shocked to learn she is descended from magically tainted nobility. When she steals from a dangerous stranger, life as she knows it goes up in flames.

At the same time, a deeply scarred but highly gifted refugee boy arrives at The Fair – a haven for magic-wielders, well disguised as a traveling carnival. The lad’s father, a resentful trickster, puts the community’s existence in jeopardy, and when disaster strikes, he leaves his son to shoulder the blame.

Haunted by repression, murder, and betrayal, Catherine and Lorcan’s powers unfold – but they are dangerous even to their own kind. Can the people of The Fair help them come into their own and gain control over their talents, or will the darkness that is consuming the realm destroy their last vestiges of hope?

If you love vivid world building and character-driven medieval fantasy, buy Stealing the Light to find out how the gravedigger's daughter and the trickster's son’s fates connect in this Writer's Digest top-rated first book of the Dies Irae Series.

 Click here to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited.
 Also available in paperback.





 Into the Dark - Dies Irae Book 2 

A year has passed since the Master Sorcerer’s murder. Lorcan Aurum returns to Ironstone to make a life for himself there, while Catherine Salt is forced to join a troupe of traveling harlots and sell her body to survive.

The rise of the merchants’ guilds and the Inquisitor’s determined effort to destroy the Unnaturals bring about a shift in the political balance of the Duitiscish Kingdoms. 

Both Lorcan and Catherine find themselves faced with difficult choices, and Catherine is forced to use her Gifts not just against humans, but against her own people. She makes dangerous friends in places where she'd least expected to find them, but the more often she uses her Gift, the darker it becomes.

Can she defeat the rage that has consumed her, or will the outlawed magical community known as The Fair soon have to pay the price?

Click here to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited.
Also available in paperback.


Click on the image to hear a short reading from Into the Dark:


Gates of Eventide - Dies Irae Book 3

Some castle ruins are full of secrets and magic. Others harbor monsters.

Catherine is queen of Trondenburgh, but too many people know her secret. The woods are crawling with demons, and the towns are full of ghosts.

It’s impossible to tell friend from enemy, and illusion from reality. Sooner or later, someone will have to pay the price, but that someone won’t be Catherine. She will rebuild the old castle on the hill, and she will destroy anyone who stands in her way.

Catherine is queen of Trondenburgh, but she knows that she is so much more.

Step through the Gates of Eventide and lose yourself in the twilight of the third part of this compellingly dark tale!

Click here to buy the e-book, or read it free on Kindle Unlimited.

Also available in paperback.

Short stories also available in the Dies Irae Series